Ishidatami Road in Kinjo-cho
Kinjo-cho, Shuri, Naha City
This cobblestone lane is paved with Ryukyu limestone and was built as part of the main road linking Shuri with the Naha port and the southern part of Okinawa during the reign of King Sho Shin in 1522. The road used to be about 10 kilometers long, but today only about 280 meters remain in Kinjo-cho, located south of the castle. Visitors can enjoy a stroll around the area while observing many traditional Okinawan homes with red-tile roofs.