Okinawa Island Guide

Everything on Okinawa Island from A to Z | 100 Kobudo Kata Challenge 2015

Okinawa Island Guide

100 Kobudo Kata Challenge 2015

645Z1244-web-large_yellow

Date: Sunday, March 29, 2015
Time: Local Japan time — 6:00 a.m. start (assemble 5:30 a.m.) / GMT time – 10 p.m. start (March 28) / Central Time (US & Canada) – 4 p.m. start (March 28) / AEST (Australia) – 8 a.m. start (March 29)
Place: Kira Kira Beach (Nishihara)
Admission: Free

Inspired by the global popularity of the 100 Kata for Karate Day 2014 event, Challenge Okinawa! is launching another 100 Kata Challenge event on March 29, 2015 — the 100 Kobudo Kata Challenge.

If you have an interest in martial arts, then you are welcome to join in performing 100 Kobudo Kata in sequence starting at 6:00 a.m. Japan time on March 29, or in your local time zone equivalent.

This is a free and open-to-the-public event. According to Challenge Okinawa! Director James Pankiewicz: “Everyone is strongly encouraged to take part in this historic and fun demonstration regardless of style, level or age. As they say in Okinawa, ‘Ichariba Chodei’ –once we meet, we are all brothers and sisters.”

Since ancient times, skill with weapons has been regarded as an essential part of martial arts training. So even if you do not yet practice kobudo (traditional martial arts weapons training), you can still try the challenge and get your first experience alongside thousands of others around the world. The challenge will be performed in Okinawa on the scenic Kira Kira Beach in Nishihara.

To register for the event or for more details, please visit the page below:

www.challengeokinawa.com/100katachallenges

Top