1076 Agena, Uruma City
A former venue for the All-island Bullfighting Tournament, this bullring has only been hosting only one or two matches a year since a new bullring, the Ishikawa Multipurpose Dome, was opened in Uruma City.
2298-1 Ishikawa, Uruma City
This is the only domed bullring in Okinawa, which plays host to some 20 bullfighting events each year, including the All-Island Bullfighting Tournament -- the biggest such event on the island. Besides real bullfights, the Ishikawa Dome also hosts a wide variety of events, such as a unique entertainment show where a bullfight and an eisa performance take place alternately in the bullring.
Taketomi, Taketomi Town (Taketomi Island)
Featuring the longest stretch of sand on Taketomi Island -- one of the Yaeyama Islands -- and tranquil water with a smooth sandy bottom, Kondoi Beach provides a great swimming experience for everyone. In addition the beach is easily accessible from Ishigaki, with regular ferries departing every 30 minutes for Taketomi.
3-18-20 Kinjo-cho, Shuri, Naha City
There are six giant akagi (bishop wood) trees in Kinjo-cho, with the largest estimated to be over 200 years old. The trees were designated by the Japanese government as a Natural Treasure in 1972. Similar trees used to be found in and around Shurijo Castle in the past; however, most of them were destroyed during the war. Today, this is the only place where large akagi trees can be seen in the prefecture.
Kinjo-cho, Shuri, Naha City
This cobblestone lane is paved with Ryukyu limestone and was built as part of the main road linking Shuri with the Naha port and the southern part of Okinawa during the reign of King Sho Shin in 1522. The road used to be about 10 kilometers long, but today only about 280 meters remain in Kinjo-cho, located south of the castle. Visitors can enjoy a stroll around the area while observing many traditional Okinawan homes with red-tile roofs.
Kinjo-cho, Shuri, Naha City
The second gate of Shurijo Castle comes into view soon as one enters Shurijo Castle Park. The term “shurei” means “observing propriety.” The plaque on the gate is inscribed with the four Chinese characters that read “Land of Propriety,” or Shurei-no-kuni. This beautiful layered gate still conveys the spirit of Ryukyu and serves as a demonstration of courtesy.
3-25-1 Maejima, Naha City
Tomari Port is the gateway to the Kerama Islands, Kume Island and the remote islands southeast of Okinawa Island. Arrivals and departures actually take place at the north wharf of the port. It takes about five minutes to walk to the north wharf from the terminal, so be aware when you are making a tight connection. Express ferry tickets can be also purchased at the north wharf.